TOWN OF INDIAN LAKE

ORDINANCE No. 107

AN ORDINANCE BY THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE TOWN OF INDIAN LAKE, TEXAS ESTABLISHING A PLACE SYSTEM FOR ELECTING COUNCIL MEMBERS; PROVIDING FOR THE ASSIGNING OF PLACE NUMBERS TO EACH COUNCIL MEMBER'S OFFICE; PROVIDING FOR FILING AN APPLICATION FOR A SPECIFIC PLACE ON THE BALLOT; PROVIDING FOR THE BALLOT TO SHOW EACH OFFICE OF COUNCIL MEMBER AS A SEPARATE OFFICE DESIGNATED BY A PLACE NUMBER; AND PROVIDING AN EFFECTIVE DATE.

- WHEREAS, the Town of Indian Lake is a Type A General Law Municipality located in Cameron County, Texas, created in accordance with provisions of the Texas Local Government Code and operating pursuant to the enabling legislation of the State of Texas; and
- **WHEREAS,** the Town of Indian Lake by passage of an ordinance may establish a place number system to identify elective office pursuant to Texas Local Government Code Sec. 21.001; and
- **WHEREAS,** there are five Council Member and the position of Mayor in the Town of Indian Lake; and
- WHEREAS, The Council Member seats are currently held by Douglas Waltman, Pamela Romer, Sheila Yore, Lucinda Gavito, and Maribel Padilla. Douglas Waltman, Pamela Romer, Sheila Yore assumed office on an odd year and Lucinda Gavito and Maribel Padilla assumed office on an even year.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT ORDAINED BY THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE TOWN OF INDIAN LAKE, TEXAS:

SECTION 1

THAT, the Council Members Place numbers assigned shall be assigned as follows: Place 1 - Douglas Waltman (odd year); Place 2- Lucinda Gavito (even year); Place 3 - Pamela Romer (odd year); Place 4- Maribel Padilla (even year); and Place 5 - Sheila Yore (odd year)

SECTION 2

THAT, when an incumbent Council Member's term of office expires, any candidate for the office of Council Member shall file an application for a specific place on the City Council.

THAT, the ballot for an election under the place system shall show each office of Council Member as a separate office designated by place number.

SECTION 3

THAT, this ordinance shall be in full force and effect upon passage.	
PASSED & APPROVED this, the 18th day of September 2019.	

James Chambers Mayor	Amy Suo Long, City Socratory
James Chambers, Mayor	Amy Sue Lopez, City Secretary

ATTEST: